Lo Buck Buildoff rigid big twin Evo build

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lo Buck Buildoff rigid big twin Evo build

I saw the “Lo Buck Buildoff” post on IG yesterday and figured, what the hell.

I’ve been collecting parts for a budget build for the last 2 months or so, with plans to bolt it all together and ride it this spring. It’s way less complicated than what I normally attempt. I’m pretty sure there won’t be a single custom-machined piece on this bike. (I know, right?)

After scoring a complete bottom-breather big twin drivetrain basically for free (bought a roller for $1,600, sold the frame, front end, and forward controls for $1,600), I thought it would be cool to build a bike with parts I had laying around, could trade for, or I could get for free. The idea was to spend no more than $500... which I think I’m going to blow, so the $1,500 budget is nice. I’ll sit down and write up and post an itemized list of what I have spent to keep everything above board.

I traded some seat work work for a frame. I’m not sure of the brand, but it’s a 180/200 (I know, gross... but free!) rear tire frame with a low backbone and gooseneck. I need to dig it out of a connex and verify the dimensions, but it came with a title.

I’m running a 21” front with a Speedmaster, both I had laying around. And I’m running a 16” rear rim (came with the motor) and a used 180 rear tire I got for free with around 3,000 miles on it.

Got a CV carb (still need an intake manifold) and a 39mm front end for $200. I have a few tanks laying around, so I guess I’ll be using one of those. I do need a 180 rear fender if anybody is holding. I also have an oil tank/battery box I don’t really like, but will run to keep it cheap unless I find a deal on something better.

I know a seat guy, so I’m covered there. It’s mostly the small stuff that will nickel and dime me... brake hoses, cables, hardware, etc.